New Delhi, June 13  A total of 147 villages in 11 states were electrified during the week ending June 12 under the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna, a statement said on Monday.

“Of the electrified villages, 76 are in Assam, 28 in Jharkhand, 10 in Bihar, six in Meghalaya, one in Uttar Pradesh, three in Chhattisgarh, four in Arunachal Pradesh, six in Odisha, nine in Madhya Pradesh, and two each in Manipur and Rajasthan,” said the statement from the power ministry.

A total of 8,242 villages have been electrified till date, it added.

The government has decided to electrify the remaining 10,357 villages by May 1, 2018, the statement said.

“Out of the remaining 10,210 villages, 6,557 are to be electrified through grid, 2,850 villages are to be electrified through off-grid, where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers, and 344 villages are to be electrified by the state governments; 459 villages are uninhabited,” it added.