EC bans exit polls on polling day for Haryana, Maharashtra assembly elections

Election Commission has
banned exit polls on polling
day for Haryana and
Maharashtra assembly
elections. The ban will be
effective from seven in the
morning to 6.30 in the
evening on 21st of this month
when the two sates will go to
poll. It will also be applicable
for bypolls to 51 Assembly
seats in 17 states.

In its order, the Commission
said there will be restrictions
on conduct of any exit poll

dissemination of result of
such exit polls during the
period. The displaying any
election matter, including
results of any opinion poll or
any other poll survey, in any
electronic media, will also be
prohibited during the period
of 48 hours ending with the
hours fixed for conclusion of

Haryana and Maharashtra will
go to polls on 21st of this
month to elect new
assemblies and the counting
will be taken up on the 24th
of October