India elected as non permanent member of UN Security Council

India has been elected as the non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. India has won the election for a two-year term after winning 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly. India won the non permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term which will begin on 1st January 2021. Earlier India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the following years: 19501951 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977,1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and 2011,2012

Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections along with India.

The United Nations high-table comprises of five permanent members and 10 non permanent members.