Nobel prize in physics awarded for discoveries in cosmology

Nobel Prize 2019 for Physics
has been announced. Three
scientists, James Peebles,
Michel Mayor and Didier
Queloz have won the Prize for
their contribution
to the understanding of the
evolution of the universe and
earth’s place in the cosmos.

One half of the award was
given to James Peebles for
theoretical discoveries in
physical cosmology and the
other half jointly to Michel
Mayor and Didier Queloz for
the discovery of an exoplanet
orbiting a solar-type star.