Shashank Manohar quits as ICC Chairman

International Cricket Council (ICC) Chairman, Shashank Manohar has stepped down as the head of the cricket body after two-year tenures.

ICC Board has decided that Deputy Chairman Imran Khawaja will take the charge until Manohar’s successor is elected. The process for the Chairperson election is likely to be approved by the ICC Board within the next week.

As per the ICC rules, Manohar could have stayed for another two-year-term as a maximum of three terms is allowed. But, he decided not to continue ahead of the all-important ICC meeting. As per reports, England’s Colin Graves is the frontrunner to succeed Manohar but recently, former Cricket West Indies chief Dave Cameron has also joined the race recently.