Shiv Abhilash Bhardwaj Chairman AERB gets extension

Shri Shiv Abhilash Bhardwaj presently as Chairman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), has been given extension of tenure of  for a period till 04.01.2019,

Shri Bhardwaj is an internationally acclaimed expert on Nuclear Safety. A post graduate in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, Shri Bharadwaj began his career with the DAE in 1971 after obtaining training in Nuclear Engineering from 14th Batch of BARC Training School. He had an illustrious career with Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) and the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited previously. His specific areas of work include design and engineering of the Indian Pressurized Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs). He retired as a Distinguished Scientist of Department of Atomic Energy from NPCIL in January, 2013. Since then he was serving as Homi Bhabha Chair Professor in the Department of Atomic Energy.

Shri Bhardwaj has been closely associated with many high level committees of AERB in the past and played a leading role in formulating many safety regulations.

Shri Bhardwaj is a recipient of the Indian Nuclear Society ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ and also earlier an Award for ‘Outstanding Achievement in Nuclear Technology including Nuclear Safety’ and is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering.).


Author: sarkarimirror