Tabla Maestro Zakir Hussain, Sonal Mansingh among 4 selected for Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships

Tabla Maestro Zakir Hussain
and dancer Sonal Mansingh
are among the four eminent
personalities who have been
selected for the prestigious
Sangeet Natak Akademi
Fellowships in the field of
performing arts

The two other personalities
are dancer and choreographer
Jatin Goswami and Bharatnatyam
exponent K. Kalyanasundaram

The decision on the names
was taken at the General Council meeting
of the Sangeet Natak Akademi last

Forty-four artistes were also
selected from the field of
Traditional, Folk, Tribal Music,
Dance, Theatre, Puppetry and
Overall contribution or
scholarship in the Performing
Arts for the Sangeet Natak
Akademi Awards for the year

The artistes include, Mani
Prasad in Hindustani Vocal,
Tarun Bhattacharya for
Hindustani Instrumental –
Santoor, Radha Sridhar for
Bharatanatyam, Akham
Lakshmi Devi for Manipuri
Rajiv Naik for Playwriting and
Malini Awasthi in Folk Music.
The 44 artistes include three
joint awards.

The awards will be conferred
by the President Ram Nath
Kovind at a special
investiture ceremony.