Vimshotri Dasha- Vedic Astrology an article series by Ajay Kapoor.

Screenshot 2020 05 08 09 02 42 680

Vimshotri Dasha- Vedic Astrology
“Pilot-taking us towards, Pre-Determined Destiny”

( A series in five parts )

By Ajay Kapoor,Jyotish Acharya ,BVB,New Delhi

(Ideas expresses are solely of the author)


Introduction and basic rules of Vimshotri Dasha

Our sage, Maharishi Parashar in his Brihat Parashar Hora Shastra, the most comprehensive extant on Vedic Natal Astrology, has mentioned about various Dashas. However, Vimshotri Dasha is adopted by maximum Vedic Astrologers as this gives us most perfect results to evaluate horoscope of any native regarding events in his/her life.

Vimshotri Dasha is total of 120 years, each planet having three Nakshatra is allotted a fix number of years. Vimshotri Dasha gives accurate timing of events. Dasha literally means circumstances. It means good, bad and ordinary Dasha results may accrue to the native. The nature of the result depends on good or bad houses / position of the planets, whose main period and sub-period are running.

Dasha balance is calculated by a prescribed method based on the Moon longitude or in Nakshatra in which moon is posited which determines the Dasha native will be enjoying at the time of birth. It is also called the Dasha balance at birth or ruling period.

The Dasha periods are fixed for all the planets: – [ Ketu = 7 years, Venus = 20 years, Sun = 6 years, Moon = 10 years, Mars = 7 years, Rahu = 18 years, Jupiter = 16 years, Saturn = 19 years and Mercury = 17 years]. It is always followed by the planet in a prescribed order.

Sign occupied by Moon is as important as ascendant from which natives’ horoscope is evaluated and it is taken as Janam Rashi, Nakshatra occupied by Moon is called Janam Nakshatra.

Screenshot 2020 05 08 08 48 47 331

When planets acquire good or bad positions (houses or rashis) in his/ her horoscope at the time of birth, according to these planets will be decided affect and result of Dasha according to their good or bad positions.

When planets are strong by virtue of being in exaltation, in its Mooltrikona sign or in own sign, or by their placement in Kendra or 11th house, they give auspicious results which further enhance if they form Raj yoga, Dhan Yoga or Shubhkatri yogas. Dasha of Lagna lord, 10Th lord and exalted planets have been the most comforting Dashas.

Screenshot 2020 05 08 08 50 40 333

A planet is considered weak if it is debilitated, in enemy sign, is combust, is aspected by Malefics, is in 6/8/12 houses or aspected by their lords, are conjunct with Rahu/Ketu or in Papkatri yoga. Planet also gives bad results if it is inimical to Lagna Lord.

The birth chart is the map of the zodiac at the time of birth in which all the planets are shown in different signs according to their presence and Dasha system is the sequence of events as well as starting point. Transit stand alone can’t give any results unless those are promised by Mahadasha / Antardasha lords.

Apart from different results based on the position of the planets in different houses with reference to Lagna falling in various signs as mentioned in classical books, few are mentioned here to make our judgments correct in reference to MD (Mahadasha) and AD (Antardasha).

Planets lordship/placement in the Kendra are stronger and the strength is proportionately reduced from Trikona, Panaparas and the weakest is Apoklimas, if a natural Benefic owns a Kendra and is placed in Kendra it becomes Malefic and gives Malefic results (kendradhipati dosh). Malefic planets are considered good in Kendra houses. Houses 3,6,8,12 are considered bad houses, 6,8,12 are considered evil houses, lords of evil houses give good results if they are placed in evil houses (Dusthanas).

Continuation to this article to follow soon.

You can reach out to the astrologer on

Author: sarkarimirror