Women’s cricket to be part of Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

In a piece of big news for
cricketing fans around the
world, the Commonwealth
Games Federation today
announced that women’s T20
Cricket has been confirmed
for inclusion at the
Birmingham Commonwealth
Games in 2022.

Eight teams will compete
across eight match days, as
cricket returns to the
Commonwealth Games for
the first time since 1998
when South Africa won the
gold medal in a men’s 50-over
format competition in Kuala

Edgbaston, the venue of
England’s semi-final victory
over Australia in the men’s
50-over World Cup, will play
host to all the matches. The
2022 Commonwealth Games
will take place in England
from 27th July to 7th August.