NLC India Chairman and Managing Director, Dr. Sarat Kumar Acharya, inaugurated All India Kabaddi Tournament, among Public Sector Units at Neyveli on 16.03.2017. In his inaugural address, he announced, that the NLC India would recruit personnel under Sports Quota.

After 16 Years

All India Kabaddi Tournament among Public Sector Units was earlier held in the year 2001. It was conducted by the Coal India Limited. After lapse of 16 years, the National Level Tournament is being conducted. The chance of conducting the tournament was given as honour to NLC India, on the occasion of Diamond Jubilee Celebration, which is being celebrated, now.

Synthetic Ground

While inaugurating the tournament, at the synthetic court especially laid nearer to Neyveli Bharathi Stadium, Dr. Sarat Kumar Acharya said, Kabaddi is the National Game for Bangladesh; and history reveals that this game has the origin of Tamil Nadu. Besides, this game is considered as important in Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Punjab and Bihar.


He also said that this game is the mixture of Wrestling and Rugby and has important at International Level. As the employees recruited under Sports Quota are on the verge of retirement, NLC India proposed to recruit Sportsman, Sportswoman and Coaches under Sports Quota, he added.
Sports Delight

In this function, Sri R. Vikraman, Director (HR), NLC India Limited, said, it is a great honour to the organization, which has been given the chance to conduct the All India PSU Kabaddi Tournament at Neyveli. While recalling the Gold Medals acquired, twice by NLC India Ltd., earlier in All India Kabaddi Tournament, which were conducted among Public Sector Units, he said, the international players would deliver delight to the fans of this game, during this 3 day Tournament.

48 Crore Fans

Speaking on this occasion, Sri A. Sabiyulla, General Secretary, Tamil Nadu Amateur Kabaddi Association and Joint Secretary, Indian Kabaddi Federation said after introducing of India Pro Leaque, the Kabaddi game became familiar. Pro Leaque Kabaddi Game held recently, witnessed the audience of around 48 Crore. This game has the more number of audience, next to Cricket. Though International renowned Kabaddi players are there in Tamilnadu, they migrated to other states for employment, he added. Also he requested the management of NLC India Limited to recruit Sports personnel, as done earlier.

Six Teams

Six teams, comprising of NLC India Limited, ONGC-Dehradun, Coal India Limited-Dhanbad, BSNL-New Delhi, ESIC-Hyderabad, HAL-Bangaluru were participated in the National Level Kabadi Tournament among PSUs. Arjuna Awardee, Sri Navaneet Gowtham and Sri Man Preet Singh, Indian Kabaddi Team Players are playing on behalf of ONGC Team. Also national renowned players are participating in this event, through other teams. Sri Sivabalan, Captain of NLC India Limited Team was a member of Indian Team, well before 20 years. In this tournament, International renowned Referee, Mr. Gopalan participating as Chief Referee alongwith 7 other International Kabaddi Referees.

Neyveli Girls

Earlier, the welcome address was delivered by Sri R. Mohan, CGM/Sports Development Centre of NLC India Limited (SDC) and Sri I. Nedumaran, DGM/SDC compered the events. In this function. Kumari Jasmin Shalini, student of Neyveli St. Joseph of Cluny Higher Secondary School and Kumari Priyadarshini, Student of NLC India Girls Higher Secondary School, Neyveli were honoured, as they were selected to participate in National Kabaddi Tournament, under 14 years representing Tamil Nadu. Sri Subir Das, Sri V. Thangapandian, NLC India Directors, Sri A.R. Velavan and Sri K.P. Pandian, Vice-Presidents of Tamil Nadu Amateur Kabaddi Association, Senior Officers of NLC India Ltd., employees, representatives from Labour Unions, Neyveli Fans were participated in the inaugural function.

ONGC won

In the first match, ONGC, Dehradun Team played with ESIC, Hyderabad Team and ONGC won the game by securing 32 : 21 points; While, today League and Semi-final matches are being conducted, Finals would be conducted by tomorrow; besides prize distribution function.


Author: sarkarimirror